Mind Over Matter

The title of this post is in regards to how I feel about concepts versus forms, but not necessarily always concepts, but I suppose I could just say “abstract” over form. The mind, one of which we all have, exists purely in abstract form in a way, but the brain exists as matter; a collection of blood and tissue and atoms. This post is also inspired by my recent thoughts regarding the form that things seem to take, and how I always find myself so much more engaged thinking about the abstract, the root, the idea or concept, over the form it takes. The irony in this is that the form, even if arbitrary, is necessary in consideration if one hopes to understand the root at all.

I have talked before about how I find myself struggling with words, how to put all these abstract ideas out in some form, in a struggle to be understood. It is not easy, not by a long shot. I don’t think I necessarily thought it would be easy, but I just don’t think I understood exactly the nature of communicating things that are philosophical in nature. I feel it’s like when a teacher learns and considers their methods in teaching children. They have the mind of an adult, but how do they stay as the teacher, but also adopt the mindset of the children they teach? Not that I am a teacher in this sense and that I see people Im communicating with as children, not at all, but the analogy works in the sense of having to consider much more than your own self and mind.

I am starting to understand now that I shouldn’t always focus on the root or the concept, but also need to learn about the form certain things take. But like with the teacher, it seems both the abstract and the form have to be considered simultaneously. I’m not really sure what I’m trying to say with this post.

About philosophicalwaste

Girl in her late 20s (is 27 late?). This blog is where writings go for the moment, still trying to figure out how to organize my thoughts. I much prefer to write by hand, it just seems right handwritten. But it takes much too long and I will write lazier to just sum things up and I dont want to feel restricted. I would love to get a type writer soon. Im also considering getting a digital audio recorder, but I fear I would always carry it around and get into the habit of just recording my thoughts as I walk around in public wondering what the hell Im doing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

